Eyes forward…

Nevermind that I currently have severe senioritis. I have aspirations of perpetual scholarship. I want to get a teaching job, but I also want to eventually get my MA or MFA in literature or creative writing… mostly just because I want to write, read literature, and write about literature, but also because I think I’d like to teach at the postsecondary level eventually. Who knows?

I’ve been looking at various options, somewhat haphazardly… mostly concentrating on areas that look nice to me and where I think I’d be able to find a good job teaching high school Spanish before and/or during my graduate studies.

I’ve been having nerdgasms looking all this stuff up, but I know that maybe graduate lit and creative writing programs aren’t as exciting for most people. But if they are, or if you have any input on particular programs, read on. This is mostly for my benefit.

MFA vs. MA:
Article from Writer’s Digest
Different goals of MA vs. MFA programs

A helpful site for creative writing programs.

Cornell University: MFA in Creative Writing

  • Concentration in Poetry or Fiction
  • Only 8 students admitted each year; all students fully funded
  • Graduate writing workshop each semester & 6 additional courses
  • Thesis: book of poetry or fiction

University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill: MA in English

  • No graduate creative writing program.
  • Comparative Literature:
    • FLAS funding opportunities.
    • I don’t see any 2nd foreign lang. proficiency requirement?

Emerson College: MFA in Creative Writing

  • Program director’s name is Douglass Whynott. Well, whynott?
  • Anyway…
  • Opportunities to teach freshman writing.
  • Full or part time enrollment. Score!
  • It costs dinero but fellowships are available?
  • Boston, MA

Northern Arizona University: Creative Writing or English

  • Many online/video courses available? Flexible for teaching schedule?
  • Strong competition for GA positions.
  • Flagstaff, AZ. I know someone here; it sounds like a cool place.
  • MA Literature:
    • 36 hours chosen from a wide variety of courses. 9 credits possible outside of the English dept.
    • Participation in Graduate Symposium or other conference.
  • MA Creative writing:
    • 12 hours of graduate creative writing
    • 12 hours of graduate literary studies
    • 3 hours of graduate composition, language/linguistics, or rhetoric
    • creative thesis

Duke University: PhD or MA in Literature

  • Holy crap. It’s Duke.
  • 90% of students receive financial aid.
  • Faculty/Student ratio: 24/53
  • Full time only. No part time enrollment. Eh.
  • Durham, NC

Harvard: English

  • Ha ha. Just kidding. This was for my own amusement. Harvard sent me information during high school, back when I was a good student and got awesome SAT/ACT scores. I kept it because it made me laugh.
  • Seriously, Harvard. Redo your website. It’s hard to navigate. Maybe I’m just not smart enough.

University of California at Irvine: MA in Comp. Lit. or MFA in English

  • Comparative Literature:
    • MA only offered for those going on to the PhD.
    • Proficiency in 2 non-English languages. 😦
  •  MFA in Creative Writing:
    • Awarded after 2 years: 6 quarters of writer’s workshops & 6 academic courses (Engl. or Comp. Lit)
    • Thesis: Book of poetry or fiction
    • All students normally recieve some sort of financial assistance.
    • Apply to either Fiction or Poetry program. GRE scores not required; admissions based on writing samples. 3.0 undergrad gpa.

University of Massachusetts: MA in English

  • Full and part time enrollment.
  • Concentration in literature, creative writing, or comp.
  • Money stuff? I suck at numbers.

University of Washington: MA, MFA, MAT

  • MFA creative writing:
    • 30-page MFA essay & creative thesis.
    • 2nd language proficiency requirement.
  • MA for teachers:
    • Courses in teaching and in other English subjects
    • Teaching internship that may be waived if I have sufficient teaching experience?
    • MATESOL also available.

There was more, but I lost all the links & notes I was saving. Aaargh.

Leave a Reply

