Crumple (& other fabulous words)

I am a fan of public transportation, for personal and global reasons, but there are a few things that suck. Waiting at the bus stop at 6:30 on November mornings, for example. Also, walking between schools means I have to shlep all my teaching stuff with me. I usually have my lesson plan book, laptop, folders of student work to correct/return, my binder of unit materials, sometimes food of some sort, articles of work clothing if necessary, etc, etc, etc. Today I also have a stack of art books. My back is already protesting, and I haven’t even shlepped the 10ish blocks to the middle school yet.

This has been another episode of Whining With Sara. Tune in next time for more whining (and dining?)

On a more positive note, Day #2 of my unit went incredibly well. I’m really happy with how things are going. I am loving the discussions we’re having of art, and how fast the students are catching onto the more boring nuts-n-bolts of grammar. Because of the day off yesterday and weird scheduling stuff, I haven’t seen Block 2 at all yet this week… so they get taught the first two lessons back to back tomorrow and Friday. We’ll see if optimism will still prevail.

Speaking of days off, I slept until approximately 2pm yesterday. It was beeyooteeful. Didn’t get a whole lot done before going to work, but that’s okay. I didn’t really expect it to be an outrageously productive day. Just outrageously restful. Which it was.

Monday night was really nice. Sherman Alexie was phenomenal. If you ever get a chance to go hear him speak, take it. He’s relevant but really hilarious.

This week in lieu of sandwiches (since none of the symposium had the motivation or ingredients necessary to pull something together) we held a ceremonial burning of James Blunt. Really, we wanted to have a fire and decided that nothing’s more fun than burning someone in effigy, and James Blunt lent himself fairly easily to hatred. We listened to “You’re Beautiful” for some solemn moments before watching his pictures crumple up into flame. It was lovely. I love the fireplaces at Kingwood.

And now, onward, mis amigos.

One Response to Crumple (& other fabulous words)

  1. d.cous. says:

    Hahaha, that’s awesome. Burning James Blunt in effigy: it’s so simple, yet somehow genius! Hey, it was good to see you on Monday, we should do so again soon!

Leave a Reply

