5th gear is the handholding one

My big news is that my parents are very generously helping me out with some $dinero$ to buy another old junker car… since my previous junker is currently junked in my driveway, and has been since May. Basically, I am looking for something that I can drive to substitute teaching gigs, closing shifts, and (hypothetical) job interviews once I am overwhelmed by gads of schools that want me to teach for them. 😉 Haven’t found a car yet, but there are options. Please let me know if you hear of anything.

In the interests of expanding my automotive options, Wes is teaching me how to drive a stick shift. We went to Monroe/Maybee last night to visit my family, and I drove home. After a half hour or so at the stop sign on Joseph St., trying to get out of first gear, it went pretty well… I only stalled out once after that. I already like the feel of the manual transmission. It makes driving more tactile and deliberate than an automatic. I still need a lot of practice before I am unleashed on the crowded hills of Ann Arbor, of course. And a car. Of course.

For now I am still doing the bus thing, and working at the restaurant and the cafe. Working on my resume and job applications. Knitting. Sledding! Visiting family and friends. Babystealing. Sleeping 8+ hours a night. (HOLY CRAP. I forgot what it felt like to have energy.)Today is my last shift at the computer lab, and consequentially the end of a monumental 4.5 years of employment at this fine university, in four different departments.

Not a lot else to say.

Well, I guess I have a lot to say.

I’m at a happy place in my life. I’m looking forward to whatever comes next… teaching and whatnot. I’m happy. A brokenrecord kind of happy. It’s probably irritating. To you, I mean.

3 Responses to 5th gear is the handholding one

  1. Bobby says:

    Remember: a junker Honda or Toyota is better than a new Chevy anyday. Sucks, but true.

  2. Josie says:

    Uhmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm clearly you are avoiding me.

    Welcome to the world of the super happy annoying others world. (There aren’t enough of us in it, so we should hang out and annoy others together….maybe start a gang)

  3. Josie says:

    That’s totally not my blog above. fancy that

Leave a Reply

