All of that time you thought I was sad, I was trying to remember your name

About that interview… as it turns out, you should probably never schedule an interview on April 1st.

I drove to Inkster, admired the dreary scenery, found the school, pulled into the (empty) parking lot about 15 minutes before my appointment, observed a heap of belongings that seemed to indicate someone was being evicted across the street from the school, sat in my car for a few minutes to calm my nerves… and couldn’t get into the school. The doors were locked. A custodian finally let me in and said that everyone was gone for Spring break. The secretary had scheduled my interview during the week when the principal was out of the office.

Interview? Just kidding. April Fools.

They haven’t called me back yet; I’ll try again next week after their break. I have another interview on Monday at an elementary school, which I may or may not want. We’ll see.

I’m working 40 hours this week, which is helpful for my finances, but fairly detrimental to my sanity. Today I worked a day shift, so I can at least enjoy the sunlight (on my porch, barefoot, cuppa coffee.)

Recently I am:
anxiety, skinned knees, nostalgia, cold toes, insomnia, caffeine, violins. Burned out.

P.S.–Thanks to Dr. Z, I have been listening to Final Fantasy’s remix of “Your Ex-Lover is Dead” by the Stars. It’s been playing in my head for the past few days. You should go listen to it, too.

4 Responses to All of that time you thought I was sad, I was trying to remember your name

  1. Nathan says:

    40 hours? If you’re going to be a teacher, you’ll be working more like 60-70! Sorry to hear about your interview. They pretty much owe you the job for that.

  2. saracita says:

    I know… this job is just a dead-end and increasingly frustrating one that I can’t afford to care about anymore. I love working a lot for things I care about, but not for yuppie coffee.

    And yes, I figure at least I have some guilt leverage now. 😉

  3. Theresa says:

    I like it when professionalism bows it’s head to the comic.
    Oh wait, it never does that and it was entirely coincidental that you didn’t have an interview on April 1st.
    Once again EVERYTHING SUCKS!
    Anyways, just wanted to let you know I read your blog like a good person.

  4. saracita says:

    Aw, Theresa! You are a good person! Despite what they say!

    Kidding, kidding.

Leave a Reply

