Hurrah

This morning I filled out the necessary paperwork for my teaching job… !!! … at a K-8 charter school in Ferndale.

I got offered three different jobs last week, which was crazy. I eventually decided on the Ferndale job because it seems to be a well organized program, I’ll be working with another Spanish teacher, and the grades are grouped so that each quarter the students get Spanish every day, which is good for language learning. It also pays a bit more than the other elementary position I was offered.

Today I filled up my gas tank and set out for Ferndale, with no directions other than my memory of coming here for my interview. I’m trying to give myself a crash course in Metro Detroit geography.

Lesson #1:
I-696 sucks right now. Maybe always. As soon as I got on the expressway it was bumper-to-bumper, stop-and-go traffic (put on your helmet, we’ll be reaching speeds of 3!) all the way to Woodward. It took a lot longer than I wanted it to. This is just extra incentive to find a place to live closer to school, because no way do I want to drive from Ann Arbor in that crap. It took about an hour and a half to get there.

It’s been a long and confusing day already. I am absolutely unfamiliar with this area. I had a few leads on apartments, most of which aren’t available. Right now I’m sitting at a Starbucks in Royal Oak, finding directions to my next appointment. I did just tour some pretty nice apartments. If I don’t find anything better in the next week or so, I’ll take the $600 one-bedroom that I looked at… it has oak floors, a fireplace, (!) and this little extra room with its own closet (so Derrida can have her own room?)

Honestly the biggest selling point for me right now is low security deposits. Once I get my first “big kid” paycheck I’ll be fine, but until then I am putting necessary things on my credit card and trying to fit in as many extra hours at work as possible, so I can scrounge together enough to move…. eep.

Other good things lately:

–Weddings!
–Democratic platform meeting… very interesting
–Geese showdowns
–Dancing
–Book club

Things are moving so fast. I need to pack things up again. It’s going to be very weird to move away. Oh, also might want to start lesson planning…

One Response to Hurrah

  1. justshanell says:

    696 is like that pretty much all the time (well not at like 3 am obviously). 696 can take you pretty much anywhere, but the Orchard Lake exit is what people take to get to the ritzy areas like 14 mile and Orchard lake (and anything north of it). I suggest avoiding it at all costs. Avoid it like the plague. Unless you’re going to Maple (15mile) and Orchard Lake to get some Chipotle.

Leave a Reply

