Cold snap

If you want to get rid of a wasp nest, it’s best to wait until early morning when it’s cold out, because the cold makes the wasps slow and sluggish. I would think that you could achieve similar results with children.

On the contrary… try this experiment. Manage a school. Fail to fix the boiler before late October. When it is below 40 F outside, don’t cancel school. Put nearly a thousand insufficiently coat-clad young children into your unheated school building, with a lot of frustrated, scarf-wearing teachers. As it turns out, only a few children are sluggish and sick. The rest go absolutely batshit crazy.

This morning was absolutely insane. Spent all of my first hour sending kids to their lockers for their coats, having the sick kids call home just to get them out of there. I had the beginnings of at least 5 fights in the 7th grade boys’ class. Spent most of the class separating kids to opposite ends of the room, listening to what such-and-so said about someone-or-other’s mama, and discussing ways to stop conflict before it escalates into violence. I wrote up two kids who actually came to blows, and I know I’m going to get a call from the administrators this afternoon so they can grill me about my classroom management, and I only hope I can be calm about it.

#$@*&@#^&…..

…Hooray! Monday!

They better not have the kids here tomorrow. I think it may be best if I am not here tomorrow, either. I’m at my wits’ end and it is halfway through Monday.
6 Responses to Cold snap

  1. d.cous. says:

    Wow. That experiment is… fascinating. It’s all hypothetical, right? 😉

  2. saracita says:

    Of course it is! I always get myself so worked up about hypothetical situations. I need to stop that.

  3. justshanell says:

    I think kids realize that the more they talk and move around, the warmer they are. I tell them in the hot months they have to be quiet and sit still so we don’t die of heat strokes from their breath. Of course, my room is always cold. It always blows cold air. I wear sweaters in summer.

    Kettering HS is hiring a language arts/Spanish teacher.

    I empathize my dear. We need a beer. Th

  4. justshanell says:

    I think kids realize that the more they talk and move around, the warmer they are. I tell them in the hot months they have to be quiet and sit still so we don’t die of heat strokes from their breath. Of course, my room is always cold. It always blows cold air. I wear sweaters in summer.

    Kettering HS is hiring a language arts/Spanish teacher.

    I empathize my dear. We need a beer. Kids all stink. What do you think?

  5. justshanell says:

    I accidently post that before I was done demonstrating my mad skillz.

  6. saracita says:

    I played some “Simón dice” (Simon says) with the kids and had them jump around; it helped. I think a lot of the attitude was picked up from the frustrated teachers… kids are little sponges for mood shifts.

    I’m impressed by your rhyming skills… and I agree on the beer! Let’s do it. You’re actually not that far away, compared to everyone else I know…

Leave a Reply

