Ouuuuuuch

My back hurts so much. I’m not sure why, but yesterday and today it’s been crazy painful. I’m getting old.

School is back in full swing. Trying to gear myself up for this first day back was terrible. The usual Sunday Night Depression became crushing after the break. But once I got here, it was good to see the students. I missed them; they make me happy. Or absolutely bonkers… and really not a lot in between.

Tomorrow morning I have my court date about this whole bumper (or lack thereof) fiasco. I just want to get it over with. It sucks to get up and get dressed up and probably get fined, but it does mean sleeping in a bit longer than usual, calling in a “sick” day, and having the rest of the day free.

This brings to mind the heavy price of stupidity. It’s discouraging to actually put a price tag to it. I wonder what the real dollar amount would be, if I added up all the unnecessary and dumb things that have cost me over the past few years.

  • Library fines.
  • Parking tickets.
  • Speeding tickets.
  • Hitting cars in parking lots.
  • Getting hit.
  • Plane tickets in pursuit of a long distance relationship.
  • Train tickets that I missed in Spain.
  • Milk that goes bad; fruit that isn’t eaten fast enough.
  • Eggs that got cracked.
  • And so on…

They would all sum up well into the thousands, I’m sure.

I was talking about this with a friend the other day, and she pointed out that the money would probably have been eaten up by something else, or wasted on other less stupid but still unnecessary things. She also pointed out that learning experiences are valuable in themselves. If all these are learning experiences, I should be nearing my bachelors in Dumb. I still wouldn’t mind trading in all that “learning” for some cold hard cash, though. I’ve already spent a huge chunk on educating myself.

Oh money, how I hate worrying about you.

One Response to Ouuuuuuch

  1. d.cous. says:

    Don’t let it get to you, Sara. I think you’ve got the ability to be happy and completely bonkers at the same time 😉

    Also, by your standards, I’m probably working on an advanced degree in dumb.

Leave a Reply

