Stop Bing Stopit.

I haven’t written in a while. I’ll list my excuses for you, in alphabetical order. Many of them begin with G. Okay, two of them.

  • Gym. I joined one. I know, right?
  • Grades. Lots of them.
  • Sleep. Actually this is not a good excuse because I haven’t been doing much of it.
  • Teaching. You know, like I do.
  • Tutoring. I got a second job with ClubZ tutoring.
  • YFU. Lots of host family interviewing, exchange student drama, and so on.

Today is the first day of the new quarter. We got our new schedule late last week, which of course was full of errors… so this morning we got the updated low-down on who and where we were to teach, at 8:00… so that we could begin teaching at 8:15. I love feeling prepared for the new semester.

Anyway, this quarter I have… (This is shaping up to be a very list-y entry.)

  • Two classes of 6th grade boys.
  • One class of 6th grade girls, just twice a week… the hellacious group I’ve been seeing all year.
  • One 5th grade class, just twice a week.
  • Two 4th grade classes.
  • One 3rd/4th combination class, all boys.
  • One Kindergarten class.
  • …aaand lunch duty during the K-2 lunch!

Lunch duty is actually exciting, since it’s an hour where instead of teaching, I get to pace around in the lunchroom and try in vain to open ketchup packets for the kiddos.

It may be too early to tell, but I’m feeling hopeful about this semester. Today I started out strict and didn’t smile a lot. I figure that starting out mean and easing up will work far better than the gradual buildup of frustration last semester.

Some of these early interactions with the kids have already been quite telling. I had many of the classes create index cards with their names on them that I will use to draw names for classroom jobs each week, but also as a way to get to know them a bit. I had each student write on the back (heck yeah another list!)

1. Something you are good at.
2. Something that is hard for you.
3. Something interesting about you.

This is the card I got from one fourth grade girl.

In case you don’t speak fourth grader, this child is good at “being bad, punching, being stupid, biting, and being annoying.” She is not good at writing or running, and her interesting fact is “Punching.”

“Punching?” I said. “Is that a sentence? That’s your interesting fact?”
“Yeah,” she said. “Like, I can punch people.”

It’s going to be an exciting semester. I’m actually looking forward to it. I think I’m starting to get the hang of this.

Remind me of that later.

3 Responses to Stop Bing Stopit.

  1. Nathan says:

    I worked for ClubZ. In retrospect, I would say to find your own clients. I make about $40/hr here. In fact you do too, Clubz just takes half the money.

  2. saracita says:

    How do you find your own clients? I would definitely be down for that. I only have one student so far through Club Z, and 20/hr isn’t too bad, but still… it isn’t that great, either.

  3. Pingback: Notes from my day today « Vino y Queso

Leave a Reply

