Blame the Inanimate Objects

My Spanish 2 student and I have been talking about how in Spanish, you get to blame the inanimate objects. You get to be the victim of clumsiness, sinister objects, aching limbs. It’s not your fault!

  • A mi se me cayó el plato. The plate went and dropped itself!
  • A mis estudiantes se les olvidó la tarea. My students’ homework went and forgot itself!
  • Me duele la cabeza. My head hurts itself to me!

Ah yes, I like Spanish.

Nice things that have happened recently:

  • Dinner and good conversation with Anna.
  • A visit at school from Gretchen!
  • Noise band show… making noise is very therapeudic.

Things that me enojan:

  • Companies that don’t know how to ship things.
  • My right earlobe, which doesn’t seem to want to stretch at the same pace as the left.
  • My school’s stupid administration and the hoops we have to jump through.
  • Mysterious projectile objects in the sixth grade, that are nobody’s fault! (A ellos se les volaron los lapices!)
  • Breaking up fights… two this week.
  • Cleaning up after cats who manage to get an unreal amount of kitty litter strewn throughout the entire apartment, every day.

Things I am looking forward to:

  • Books and jewelry coming in the mail.
  • Spring break.
  • Friday night.
  • Salsa.
  • June.

Now that I have gotten some lists out of my system…

I apologize for the lack of interestingness. I am apalled at my own lack of interestingness these days. My life is very busy and yet still very lame. So busy and so lame, in fact, that I seldom have enough time to fit in all the mundane things that I need to do… along with the frustratingly difficult things, such as teaching Spanish, or influencing young lives.

Yesterday a kindergartner was blowing air at his classmate, who got irritated and pushed him off his chair. I made both offending parties sit out on the carpet. The one kid kept saying “But Ms. K, he blew me first! HE BLEW ME FIRST!!!” …with rapidly rising volume.

Five year olds are so scandalous. At least I have the constantly boiling vat of childhood and adolescent drama to keep me both entertained and befuddled.

My little sister just got engaged! Holy crap. The wedding may be coming up fast… perhaps too fast… and it’s a little overwhelming to think about. It’s shaping up to be a pretty wedding-ful summer. Everybody’s growing up. I feel old… except for when students’ parents meet me and laugh in my face.

One and a half days, nine classes, one tutoring appointment, and it will be the weekend.

5 Responses to Blame the Inanimate Objects

  1. chelsea says:

    you mean salsa dancing, right? because i though salsa as in food. and then i thought, why is she looking forward to salsa?

  2. saracita says:

    Yes, dancing… but really, either could be exciting! Maybe it’s really good salsa!

  3. annadefenestrated says:

    Holy crap! The Kennedy of Toledo y Dios is getting married? Dile a Rebecca congrats for me.

    If your life is lame, my enjoying reading your perspectives of happenings in it is also lame. Hurrah for lame! I take pictures of my bathroom-to-be! Let’s lame together!

  4. saracita says:

    Mutual lame-d!

    Yes, it is indeed Rebecca! I’ll pass on your felicitaciones, for sure.

  5. 4riozs says:

    I was really thinking about becoming a Spanish teacher but a bad grade in mathamatics has demolished the idea, but after reading your post I feel okay about the idea that I may not ever be hired bc of this math class. The things that make you mad…

    “My school’s stupid administration and the hoops we have to jump through.
    Mysterious projectile objects in the sixth grade, that are nobody’s fault! (A ellos se les volaron los lapices!)
    Breaking up fights… two this week. ”

    I don’t know how you do it. I think it takes a strong person to work in our schools.

    Pues hechale ganas!

Leave a Reply

