Blue, the color of our planet from far, far away.

Okay Sara, you may drink one (1) cup of coffee before being productive.

As my dad always says, in life you can choose to have good cars or good stories.

Yesterday morning I loaded up dress / food / gifts and headed to Toledo several hours early to help set up for my sister’s wedding shower. Except I didn’t, because my front driver’s side tire was completely flat.

I freaked out a little because I am completely broke and am still trying to figure out how to pay tuition without any financial aid.

My neighbors lent me their crazy air compressor that plugs into a cigarette lighter (I want one now – it took about 10 minutes to fill up the completely flattened tire enough to drive on it) and I ventured out on an adventure to find an open tire establishment, at 11am on a Sunday, with less than $20 to my name. I eventually found a place that picked out the piece of glass from my tire, and plugged it.

In the end I made it to the shower on time. Imagine that. The shower was very nice – it was good to see everyone. My mom made an incredible amount of food. I got to meet my future brother-in-law’s mother, and see a lot of family friends who I haven’t seen in years, and be shocked at the 17 year olds who I still thought were 7. I still don’t know the groom at all, but I assume the bride does, and that’s what matters.

I walked back to my car and found the tire flat again. Played the fill-up-the-tire-every-so-often game all the way back to Detroit.

This morning I took it back to the shop. It turns out that sometime after getting it plugged yesterday, it got another nail hole in it. So they plugged that, too. Hopefully that’s the end of that.

All right. Coffee done. Time to be proactive.

One Response to Blue, the color of our planet from far, far away.

  1. chelsea says:

    oh my god sara…that’s hilarious. and sad. i wish i had a hundred tires to give you. and coffee. when do you want to get coffee? i work til 830 tonight and then am picking up grace, and tomorrow 7-330 and then i’m making jam with brittany but you are more than welcome to join us then, or somehow zap your way to my apartment tonight with a coffee maker (just give me enough notice and i’ll bring the coffee…i just dont have a coffee MAKER…or we could just get drive thru starbucks. or the bean is open til 11 and grace will behave i hope.) blah blah blah. your poor tire. its like the ugly duckling tire. somehow he’s beautiful, right? holes and all? its slow at work. im trying to entertain myself until its over. can you tell?

Leave a Reply

