B & E

october 068

The new quarter starts today. I have the same younger classes but a brand new class of middle schoolers. A sea of shining new faces. Well… sullen new faces. The 6th graders are bubbly, the 7th graders are sleepy, and the 8th graders are brooding and throwing disapproving looks at the bubbly ones. The 5th grade is… the 5th grade. The 4th grade class from last year has transferred it’s unique brand of crazy into this year. Chair-throwing, tears, suspensions, simmering drama. I had to bodily prevent one kid from slugging another in the face today, sparked by an argument over a chair. A CHAIR.

I feel frazzled. I slept this weekend but I don’t feel like I’ve slept in days. I didn’t get to school as early as I planned because I lay in bed for about ten minutes psyching myself to leave the inexplicable safety of my blankets, and stood at my front door for about ten more minutes before I could open it and go out into the dark. It wasn’t until I saw a neighbor outside walking their comfortingly huge dog that I was able to unlock the door and go to my car. I’m frustrated with myself for being so on edge.

Saturday night our house was robbed. I was by myself all weekend while my housemates were out of town, and I left to go to the bar with some friends at about 9pm. When I got home at midnight, needing to pee after my two beers, I unlocked the front door to see the closet door open. The entertainment center was open as well, looking empty without the big screen TV, and the drawers hanging open. I still didn’t quite get it until I went up to find all the bedroom doors open, drawers pulled out and thrown around, my computer gone. I ran down to the kitchen to see the back door hanging open with the lock wrenched off. At that point I simultaneously called the police and started some terrified crying. The police had me wait in my car until they could come and check the house. There was broken glass all over the dining room; apparently after using a crowbar to get in through the back mudroom door, the intruders couldn’t get in since the inner door was locked. So they broke through the dining room window. This was convenient since the floodlight on the garage was broken, which would have illuminated their entrance through the broken window and their exit with our two large-screen TVs, computers, lockbox, and PlayStation 3 (they left the PS2 and just opted for the updated model.) I’m sure they were watching the house to find a time when I was gone, which gives me the heebie jeebies.

It isn’t as bad as it could have been. M & A have homeowner’s insurance, which may even cover my laptop that was stolen. Luckily I had my school laptop with me (this is the luck that befalls those who are nerdy enough to go do homework at the bar on a Saturday night) and so I didn’t lose all my grad work and school files… just all my personal stuff, music and writing and photos. Things that I’m trying not to think about too much. Honestly as far as hardware goes, any replacement laptop that holds a battery charge, has all its keys, and doesn’t have a cord taped together will be an upgrade.

It’s the violation I can’t shake. I think it’s a common feeling after assault, home invasion, rape, or other crimes against privacy and respect. It’s something you can’t shake just by locking doors and taking precautions, because they broke through the windows and pried open the door. It’s a very uneasy feeling.

Ooooog. That is the sound of too much to do in too little time. When did it get to be mid-November? Good thing I am blogging instead of being productive.

4 Responses to B & E

  1. Wendy Kennedy says:

    Very very scary. I wish I could give you a hug right now!

  2. annadefenestrated says:

    When I got mugged, I felt like this. But this was your home. That’s worse.

    I’m so sorry.

    I’m hugging you through the intarweb.

    BTW, like the new theme.

  3. Sarah says:

    Wow, so intense. I admire you so much for teaching in the States. I’ve taught overseas for the past five years and can’t imagine the kinds of work hours and pressure and situations U.S teachers face. One of my close friends worked at a charter school in New Orleans for a year and I think it was one of the most challenging things she’s ever done (in the end, she wanted to go back for more but ended up entering a grad program).

    So, seriously, mad props! I look forward to reading more.

  4. saracita says:

    Thanks!

    Detroit schools can be bad but I hear New Orleans are rough, too. I love my job but I’m also looking forward to the possibility of teaching abroad once I finish my masters in TESOL.

    Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

