Then again, “He had already run out of the room” seems unnecessarily long.

This morning I called upstairs to another teacher about a student who I sent up to her, and said “He’s on his way; I tried to give him a pass but he already run out the room.”

I hung up the phone and did a double-take. Run out the room? I never say “run out the room.” I know my prepositions and phrasal verbs… believe you me.

Language is such a fascinating thing. It sneaks in around the edges. I catch myself reflecting parents, friends,  favorite books, roommates, students… uh oh.

One Response to Then again, “He had already run out of the room” seems unnecessarily long.

  1. 4riozs says:

    That’s so funny. I learned another language and sometimes I say strange things in English that someone born in the US wouldn’t normally say.

Leave a Reply

