Poem Tartle

I used to have this book which is a longer version of this web page. Other language nerds will enjoy.

I’ve been thinking all day about this poem I read years and years ago, that I really want to find again. The only detail I can recall – outside of the overall visceral feeling of the poem – is that it included a vacuum salesman, demonstrating how to vacuum a mattress.

Apparently this is not enough identifying information for google to find me the name of the poem or anything other than a surreal trip through some search engine innards.

Some days my sole source of self-knowledge are in the words and images that I find myself craving.

I have paint & canvasses & charcoal pencils & pads of paper blank with opportunity, sitting in my dining room. But I am in front of a computer screen trying to write website reviews, and getting lost on a fruitless wild-poem-chase.

My throat hurts. It is gorgeous outside. I need to be productive. I want to go stand next to water, I want to cut my hair, I want to write little pointy words on blank paper with the perfect ballpoint pen.

Magritte is Ma-great

4 Responses to Poem Tartle

  1. d.cous. says:

    Ah. Posts like this one are why I love this blog 🙂

  2. saracita says:

    Also because it’s written by the coolest and pastiest cousin around, of course.

  3. Wendy Kennedy says:

    Are you sure you are remembering a poem? Or are you perhaps remembering my tale of the vacuum salesman from Hell that I inadvertantly let in the house back when you were a wee tot- I let him in to get the “free” merchandise that was the reward for listening to his sales pitch. Ain’t no such thing as a free lunch! Five hours later, when I still couldn’t get him out (his supervisor dropped him off and kept calling to see if he made a sale yet). When he insisted he was required to demonstrate vacuuming dust mites from the mattresses upstairs before he would be allowed to leave, I sent him to sit on the front porch until his supervisor came to get him.

  4. saracita says:

    Nope… definitely not what I was thinking of…

Leave a Reply

