20/365

This weekend I took a short but sweet visit to Jávea, the beautiful little town where a friend is teaching. In the evening we stumbled upon an encierro de toros – the streets around the cathedral’s plaza were blocked off, and bulls or cows were allowed to run amok for a while, egged on by local young men. It felt like a scene out of a movie about Spain, and made me feel very American as I anxiously watched  fathers pushing their sons out into the plaza, where they teased and taunted and were chased up and down the cathedral steps by the increasingly frustrated animals.

Similar to my experience at a bullfight years ago, I found myself rooting for the bull.

I have more pictures and some video that I’ll add later – if only because pictures fail to capture the Macarena soundtrack that accompanied the experience.

2 Responses to 20/365

  1. Chelsea says:

    that guy is wearing a cookie monster shirt.

  2. saracita says:

    I know, right?

Leave a Reply

