A brief note from the Camino

I´m sitting in the municipial albergue  (pilgrim hostel) in Ventosa, after approximately a week and a half of walking on the Camino de Santiago – beginning in St. Jean Pied-de-Port in France, climbing through the misty Pyranees (a grueling first day), stumbling through Basque country, wandering through Pamplona, and striding a bit more confidently into La Rioja, feet bandaged and vineyards on every side.

Words fail me and internet time is limited, but suffice to say that the Camino is life changing.

I have always been attracted to the idea of pilgrimage – a removal from daily routines and surroundings, where the journey is more important than the surroundings. I am not doing this walk for a free get-out-of-hell card, for penance, or for a vacation. I have a list of reasons why I began the Camino, but not a list of what I expect to find at the end.

I´m more happy and at peace than I can ever remember being. The physical effort is grueling, but there are a thousand small rewards: the view from the top of a steep hill, a flock of sheep emerging from mist, the sound of real bells, a mossy fountain of cold water just when you need it. I´m learning to forget my feet and take advantage of the headspace.

I´ll see you at the other end.

Between St. Jean and Roncesvalles, the first day.

2 Responses to A brief note from the Camino

  1. Chelsea says:

    that sounds incredible. beyond words. i’m so happy for you.

  2. I´m learning to forget my feet and take advantage of the headspace.

    Words don’t fail you at all! 🙂

Leave a Reply

