214/365

Grand Rapids. Tall glassy office buildings and hotels, surrounded by fields.

I am used to slow mornings, café con leche, a big midday meal with a glass of wine. I am used to sleeping in rooms crowded with strangers. I’ve spent the last month and a half straight with my boyfriend. Now I am adjusting to meetings all day that begin at 7am, coffee in styrofoam, a giant hotel room to myself, to adjust to a new time zone and a supposedly familiar culture. People here are acutely friendly and midwestern and speaking my native language too much.

(Now that I’m a bit more settled I’m catching up on an almost 2 month backlog of daily photos. Apologies to blog followers who may be spammed with posts. I hope to be up to speed soon.)

 

Leave a Reply

