215/365

 

My weeklong training for my new teaching job wrapped up today with an outdoor picnic at the “service center” headquarters… including a dance party and a dance-off between two principals.

The training has been informative, full of free food and free goodies, and not the professional development experience that I’m used to. I know better than to evaluate a company’s environment on how they woo new employees, and I know better than to evaluate a school’s treatment of their teachers on the gimmicks they use to pump us up for the school year… but so far I feel more prepared and positive about the new school year than I have in the past.

(And that’s pretty good considering that I’m still a culture-shocked mess.)

Leave a Reply

