The Long Winter

This winter was harsh here. Like a trauma, it had to pass before I could write about it.

I took pictures. School was cancelled a lot. I spent many hours gripping my steering wheel and inching across slick roads. I lost sight of bare pavement for months.

Mostly I hid under the covers, wrapped in my red sheets, and watched the days slide by – world soft & white or wet & dark.

Discontent settled in around me, like dust on shelves. I didn’t brush it off. I wrote my name in it, on every filthy surface.

Spring came, and we got drunk on the rain and the excess warm air. Neighbors stumbled out of their doors, to shed layers, draw on the sidewalk with chalk, shout up the street, ride bikes, to sing or shoot guns, somewhere far away.

For me the dates on the calendar are pointed inward. Square boxes become curved lenses, and inside I am still disastrous. Fairy lights reflected in puddles are burning cities, for no good reason. If there’s nothing to flee, I lose direction.

This is nothing new – this is the same every year. Ice to mud to green. I relearn everything, every time.

 

the long winter - 01

the long winter - 02 the long winter - 03 the long winter - 04 the long winter - 05 the long winter - 06 the long winter - 07 the long winter - 08 the long winter - 09 the long winter - 10 the long winter - 11 the long winter - 12 the long winter - 13 the long winter - 14 the long winter - 15 the long winter - 16 the long winter - 17 the long winter - 18the long winter - 19the long winter - 20the long winter - 21the long winter - 22the long winter - 23the long winter - 24the long winter - 25the long winter - 26the long winter - 27the long winter - 28the long winter - 29the long winter - 30the long winter - 31the long winter - 32the long winter - 33the long winter - 34the long winter - 35the long winter - 36the long winter - 37the long winter - 38the long winter - 39the long winter - 40the long winter - 41the long winter - 42the long winter - 43the long winter - 44the long winter - 45

3 Responses to The Long Winter

  1. Wendy Kennedy says:

    Your words, like your photos, are art. I love this!

  2. Kaley says:

    Love this! I do not envy anyone in the U.S. who had to go through this terrible winter!

  3. Pingback: Year Six: Leaving Loose Ends Untied | Me importa. Me importas. Me importan.

Leave a Reply

